Managing Users and Roles

DEAR offers fine-grained control over user permissions. Invite users to the system, grant full or read-only permission to the different features and modules, and create roles with pre-defined permissions to assign to users. For features where it is not possible for the user to edit, full access replaces read-only access (e.g. can see User Audit Report). 


Table of Contents


The Account Owner

[back to top]


When you set up a DEAR organisation account, by default, the account owner is assigned full permission to use the system. As the account owner, you can invite other users to the system via the Users & Roles page. From the same page, you can also create roles with the permissions already set up. You can then just assign users to these roles once they've signed up and created their own accounts with DEAR.


The account owner sets permissions and restrictions for all other users. The account owner can also lock another user or restrict any type of access to DEAR. This can be useful if employees are on leave for a long time and you want to limit their access to the system.


Lock and prevent a user from accessing DEAR

[back to top]


Only the account owner can lock other users from using the system. Account owners also cannot lock themselves from the system. 


To lock a user:

  1. Navigate to Settings → Users & Roles.

  2. On the Users & Roles page, click the user's name on the list. 

  3. On the user's Details page, click the Lock User button to the right of the account name. Locked users can be unlocked by the account owner by clicking Unlock user.


Change the account owner

[back to top]


The account owner can be changed to another user. Only the account owner can do this. 


To change the account owner:

  1. Navigate to Settings Users & Roles.

  2. On the Users & Roles page, click the user's name on the list. 

  3. On the user's Details page, click Set as Account Owner to the right of the account name. 


Inviting users and advisers

[back to top]


Before anyone in your organisation can access DEAR, you need to invite them to become a DEAR user. Aside from the account owner/master user, other DEAR users with full access to the Users & Roles page can perform this operation.


After sending the invitation, you can choose to assign permissions and/or roles to the user or wait for the user to accept the invitation prior to assigning permissions and/or roles. By default, new users have all permissions set to full access. 


Aside from users, you can also invite advisers to your DEAR account. Advisers are registered DEAR partners – accountants, bookkeepers and financial advisers who use DEAR to provide better service to their clients. Inviting an adviser to your organisation gives the adviser access to the account. The adviser will have the same permissions as the master user and full ability to manage DEAR for your organisation. 


Invite a User:

  1. Navigate to Settings → Users & Roles.
  2. On the Users & Roles page, click Invite a User.
  3. On the Invite new user window, enter the user's email address, then click Send. By default, a new user will have no permissions. 
    • NOTE: Your account will have a maximum number of users according to your DEAR subscription conditions. If you reach the maximum number of users, you will need to increase the number of users allowed by your subscription to continue inviting users. 


Invite an Adviser:

  1. Navigate to Settings → Users & Roles.
  2. On the Users & Roles page, click Invite an Adviser.
  3. On the Invite Adviser window, enter the adviser's email address, then click Send. Adviser must be a registered DEAR Partner


Delete Users

[back to top]


You can delete users by simply clicking the delete icon to the right of their name on Users screen. Deleting a user does not affect user history data. 


Set User Permissions

[back to top]


After a user accepts your invitation, the user is added to the list of users on the Users & Roles page. Click the user's name to view their special and effective permissions. If a role or roles have been assigned to the user, the user inherits the permissions from the role. If a role has not been assigned, the user by default has full access to all features. Set special permissions to change user permissions and override role permissions.


NOTE: If N/A is selected in the special permissions field and a role is assigned to the user, the effective permission is the role permission. If a role is NOT assigned and N/A is chosen as the special permission, the effective permission is No Access. If more than one role is assigned to the user, the user inherits the highest level of access assigned to those roles.

To set special permissions for a user:

  1. Navigate to Settings →  Users & Roles.

  2. Click the user's name on the list. This will open a new page for that user with detailed permissions information. 

  3. On the user's Details page, select the access to be given to the user (Full Access, Read-Only, No Access, N/A) for each DEAR module. See User permissions explained for details about what each permission allows.

  4. Click Save.


NOTE: If a user can't access a system feature that they should have access to, the most likely cause for this is that you have not given them access permissions to the feature. Resolve this problem by granting the user the necessary permissions to access the feature.


Manage Roles

[back to top]


Roles make setting permissions for your users more convenient. With roles, you can set up permissions just once, then assign your users to a role. For example, you might set up roles for your various line departments (Sales, Management, Warehouse) so that you can just add designated users from within the department to the role. You can assign more than one role to a user.


Create a Role

[back to top]


  1. Navigate to Settings →  Users & Roles.
  2. Click to the Roles tab and click Add new role to open a pop-up window.
  3. Enter the role name on the box, then click Add to add the role to the list of roles.


Grant Permissions to the Role

[back to top]


After creating a role, you can grant permissions to it. These permissions will be inherited by any user you assign to the role. See User permissions explained for details about what each permission allows.

  1. Navigate to Settings →  Users & Roles.
  2. On the Roles tab, select a role from the menu on the left. 
  3. You can quickly set bulk permissions for a role by using the Full access or Read-only access at the top of the screen. To grant fine-grained access to specific modules within DEAR, you may also check the boxes under the Full Access and Read-only access columns for each permission.
  4. Click Save.


Assign a User to the Role

[back to top]


Once permissions have been assigned to a role, you can assign a user to the role. Users will inherit the permissions granted to the role. If a User is assigned to more than one role, they will inherit from the role with the higher level of permission.


  1. Navigate to Settings → Users & Roles.
  2. On the Roles tab, click on the arrow to the left of the role, then + Add User to open a pop-up window. 
  3. Select the user to be assigned to the role from the list and Save your changes.


OR

  1. On the Users tab, click on a user to open the details screen. 
  2. Click +Role to open a pop-up window.
  3. Select the role to be assigned to the user from the list and Save your changes.


See Effective Permissions

[back to top]


At any time you view a user's effective permissions.

  1. On the Users tab, click on a user to open the details screen. 
  2. Click Effective Permissions to view effective permissions. 

Did you find it helpful? Yes No

Send feedback
Sorry we couldn't be helpful. Help us improve this article with your feedback.