search-icon

Ability to Save Display Field Layouts, Globally and by User - Currently layouts go back to default dear layout for each users or logging into different computer

started a topic 12 months ago

We need the ability to save field/column layouts as defaults for all users or save layouts to specific users. Currently DEAR only seems to save the layout for the logged in user on the computer that the user is logged into. If you log the same user into a different computer the layout goes back to DEAR default. This is a big hassle for new users as we have to manually change each modules column layout to suit our requirements, not to mention if we sign in to a different PC.  Please add this simple feature ASAP!!!!


4 people like this idea
  • Yes couldnt agree more! User preferences are super important to UX and it's a real pain when they don't transfer to other browsers/computers

    1 person likes this
  • This request needs to be given more attention.. this problem is one of the biggest UX frustrations we have on our team.


    PROBLEM

    Dear uses the browser cookies to save the layout and appearance preferences. If/when one has to login from another browser or clear their cache for some reason, this resets the layout and appearance preferences. 

    This poses a huge UX frustration and is a productivity killer to have to set up all your preferences again.


    SUGGESTED SOLUTION

    Ideally, you would be able to set up a bunch of default layouts which can be assigned to a role type (Settings > Users & Roles). Individual users could further adjust their own personal layouts as desired, but the preferences would save to the role and user settings within Dear, rather than the browser cookies.

    Then when a user is switching browsers or using Dear across different devices it’s exactly the same experience for them.


    But i'm not tech expert so not sure what's possible and what's not - if you agree please like/vote.. if you have other ideas for solutions, please add to the comments!


    3 people like this
  • Again today all our layout setting have gone back to dear default. Once again we have to change them back to our requirements on all our terminals, this doesn't help with our workload on already a busy monday.... DEAR you need to fix this UX URGENTLY as what is the point in allowing your users to change them and not be able to save their layout if they just revert back every time you do some sort of update in the background.. BIG ISSUE NEEDS FIXING!!!!!!!


    3 people like this
  • Can't agree more Paul, so frustrating!


    2 people like this
  • Up Vote


    3 people like this
Login or Signup to post a comment

4 people like this idea
Log in or Sign up to post a comment