This article highlights the advanced integration features between DEAR and Xero.


Exporting Attachments to Xero


With this option toggled to Yes, all existing sales and purchase attachments within DEAR are exported to Xero during synchronization. If you do not want these attachments exported to Xero, do not turn on this option.

  1. Navigate to the Xero integration Settings page.
  2. Toggle Export attachments to Xero to Yes.
  3. Click Save.


NOTE:

  • Upon authorizing an invoice, all attachments attributed to existing Sales and Purchases are exported along with the authorized invoice into Xero.
  • When a new attachment is attributed to a sale order or purchase along with an authorized invoice, the new attachment is immediately exported into Xero.
  • When a new Advance Sale is created with several invoices and several attributed attachments, all the attachments are exported to each invoice in Xero.
  • Once you add an attachment to Xero, it cannot be deleted.


Exporting Purchase Orders to Xero

[back to top]

With this option toggled to Yes, all existing Purchase orders and any future Purchase Orders from DEAR are exported to Xero during synchronization. If you do not want these to be exported to Xero, do not turn on this option.

  1. Navigate to the Xero integration Settings page.
  2. Toggle Export Purchase Orders to Xero to Yes.
  3. Click Save.


Automatic Synchronization with XERO

[back to top]

You can set up synchronization of changes in DEAR Inventory to Xero at a convenient time by enabling and setting up Auto Sync. 


To set up Auto Sync:

  1. Navigate to Xero Integration settings page.
  2. Toggle the Auto-synchronization option to Yes.

  3. On the Auto-sync section, select the start date, start time, and frequency of synchronization.
  4. Select the alert type for when errors are detected during synchronization. If you choose Email, go to Step 5. If you choose Internal, you will be informed of the errors via a red button on the Notification icon on top. skip to Step 6.
  5. Enter the mailing list to which the alert will be sent.
  6. Click Save. 

Note: 

  • A manual synchronization should not be performed during scheduled system maintenance. The sync will not be triggered and the user will be notified that they can try the process again once system maintenance is completed.
  • When an Auto-sync is triggered, only the pending records to time will be synced, any previously failed records will not be synced. 
  • Users are unable to manually sync whilst an auto-sync is in progress.


Viewing Sync Transaction Status and History

[back to top]

To view status and history of sync transactions, navigate to Integrations > Xero > Sync Now. You can then view the transactions on the Xero Synchronization page.


All the synchronization transactions are displayed, along with their respective status. You may further narrow down the results by Entity or Status using the Filter function on the top right.


To view the sync history, click on the See Sync history link that appears under Synchronization status.



System Activity Report

[back to top]

This report is available for users to know precisely when and what time the sync took place, and the type of sync performed (manual or auto-sync). Any changes made to the auto-synchronization parameters are also displayed on the report.

To generate the System Activity report:

  1. Log on to Dear Systems.
  2. Navigate to Reports > System Activity Report.

To refresh the report and view the most recent synchronization logs on the screen, click the Refresh button.


You can also use Search to filter the report by date, type, or username


Dear / XERO Reconciliation Report

[back to top]

A reconciliation report between DEAR and XERO makes the business more transparent and allows you to see if the transactions tally between the two systems.

NOTE: To receive this report, you must set up an account number and define the month and year in XERO.

To generate the DEAR/Xero reconciliation report:

  1. Navigate to Reports > Financial reports > Reconciliation with Xero.
  2. On the Xero Reconciliation Summary page, the default start and end dates is set to the current Month and Year, i.e. 01/01/2019 - 01/31/2019. Change these dates to suit your requirements. Below are a few samples on how to configure the start and end dates:
    • To generate a report covering a period of two months or more, change the dates as necessary, i.e. 08/01/2018 - 09/31/2018.
    • To generate a report covering previous years, change the dates as necessary, i.e. 08/01/2017 - 09/31/2018 .
  3. Select the accounts to be covered in the report. To select all accounts, check the left-uppermost box on the grid. You may also individually select from the accounts on the list.
  4. Click the Reconcile button to generate the report.

You may download a copy of the report in CSV format by clicking the Download button, which only appears once the report is generated. To refresh the report, click the Update button. To navigate between the records shown on the report, use the navigation bar at the bottom.

NOTE:

  • If there are no differences in account information between DEAR and XERO, you will be notified that the accounts are fully reconciled.
  • If there are differences found between DEAR and XERO, the report will show the following:
    • DEAR object (invoice, journal, credit note, etc.) - clicking the document number displays the corresponding page for the document in DEAR.
    • DEAR object cost
    • XERO object (invoice, journal, credit note, etc.) - Clicking the document number displays the corresponding page for the document in XERO.
    • XERO object cost
  • Documents that only exist in either DEAR or XERO will have a status of Missed.
  • Documents that are fully matched in DEAR and XERO are not shown in this report.
  • The Xero API has a limit of 5000 calls per day. Depending on the number of transactions, generating this report may use a significant portion of your daily limit of API calls to Xero.
  • If Xero is integrated with DEAR, this report can also be viewed from the Balance Sheet report.