The ability of DEAR users to perform operations within the system is based on the effective permissions assigned to them. Effective permissions are the actual permissions assigned to the user.

Permissions can be set up manually for each user. Users can also be assigned to one or more roles with predefined permissions. Users assigned to roles can also have special permissions granted to them. For example, a user assigned to a sales role with all sales-related permissions might be given full access to the Sales Reporting section of the Reporting module.


The Master User Account

[back to top]

When you set up your own DEAR account, by default, you are assigned full permission to use the system. As the master user, you can invite other users to the system via the Users & Roles page. From the same page, you can also create roles with the permissions already set up. You can then just assign users to these roles once they've signed up and created their own accounts with DEAR.

The master user manages access rights (full access or read-only) and sets restrictions for all other defined users. The master user can also lock another user or restrict any type of access to DEAR. This can be useful if employees are on leave for a long period of time and you want to limit their access to the system.


To Lock and Prevent a User from Accessing DEAR

[back to top]

Only a master user can lock other users from using the system. Master users also cannot lock themselves from the system. 

To lock a user:

  1. Navigate to Settings > Users & Roles.

  2. On the Users & Roles page, click the user's name on the list. 

  3. On the user's Details page, click the Lock User button to the right of the account name.


Access Rights

[back to top]

From the Users section of the Users & Roles page, you can set up a user with either full access or no access to the system.

From the Roles section, you can create a role and add full access or, if applicable, read-only access permissions to modules in DEAR.

Full access means the ability to perform all operations within a module. Read-only access means the ability to view records within a module and nothing else. No access means that you cannot access a module.


Inviting Users and Advisers

[back to top]

Before anyone in your organization can access DEAR, you need to invite them to become a DEAR user. Aside from the account owner, other DEAR users with full access to the Users & Roles page can perform this operation.

After sending the invitation, you can choose to assign permissions and/or roles to the user or wait for the user to accept the invitation prior to assigning permissions and/or roles.

Aside from users, you can also invite advisers to your DEAR account. Advisers are registered DEAR partners.


To Invite a User

[back to top]

  1. Navigate to Settings > Users & Roles.
  2. On the Users & Roles page, click Invite User.
  3. On the Invite New User window, enter the user's email address, then click Send.

To Invite an Adviser

[back to top]

  1. Navigate to Settings > Users & Roles.
  2. On the Users & Roles page, click Invite Adviser.
  3. On the Invite New Adviser window, enter the adviser's email address, then click Send.

Setting User Permissions

[back to top]

After a user accepts your invitation, the user is added to the list of users on the Users & Roles page.

To set up permissions for a user:

  1.  Navigate to Settings > Users & Roles.

  2. On the Users & Roles page, click the user's name on the list.    

  3. On the user's Details page, select the access to be given to the user for each DEAR module.
  4. Click Save.

Managing Roles

[back to top]

Roles make setting permissions for your users more convenient. With roles, you can set up permissions just once, then assign your users to a role. For example, you might set up roles for your various line departments so that you can just add designated users from within the department to the role.

You can assign more than one role to a user.

To Create a Role

[back to top]

  1. Navigate to Settings > Users & Roles.
  2. On the Users & Roles page, click the +Role button.
  3. Enter the role name on the box, then click Add to add the role to the list of roles.


To Grant Permissions to a Role

[back to top]

After creating a role, you can then grant permissions to it. These permissions will be inherited by any user you assign to the role.

  1. Navigate to Settings > Users & Roles.
  2. On the Users & Roles page, click the role from the list.
  3. On the role's Details page, click either Grant full access or Grant read-only access to assign either full or read-only DEAR access to the role. To grant fine-grained access to specific modules within DEAR, you may also check the boxes under the Full Access and Read-only access columns for these modules.
  4. Click Save.

To Assign a User to a Role

[back to top]

Once permissions have been assigned to a role, you can assign a user to the role. Users will inherit the permissions granted to the role.

  1. Navigate to Settings > Users & Roles.
  2. On the Users & Roles page, click the role to be assigned to the user.
  3. Click the +User button, then select the user to be assigned to the role from the list.
  4. Click Save.