Just a quick and simple suggestion....
When cloning a product you get a banner across the top of the screen that says:
"Product has been copied. Please save new product" which is fine but the banner is in green, the colour as if the product has already been saved.
On every other page, when you press "Save" you get a green banner alerting you that you have saved that page.
Could you change that clone banner to red or yellow indicate that the product is unsaved?